Important dates and information ahead of runoff elections

posted in: Mississippi News | 0

In addition to the Republican Gubernatorial primary, several other races are headed to runoffs after last night’s elections. These races include Attorney General (R), Northern Distirct Transportation Commisioner (R) and Central District Public Service Commisioner (D).

Related: Reeves, Waller headed for runoff in Gubernatorial primary

Related: Primary election results: Statewide races

In addition to the big-ticket statewide races, 5 Democratic and 5 Republican state Senate seats are headed for a runoff.

The Secretary of State’s office wants to remind you that even if you didn’t vote in Tuesday’s primary elections, you are still eligible to vote in the runoffs as long as you’re registered to vote. The voter registration deadline for the runoff was on July 29th. 

If you did vote on Tuesday and intend to cast a ballot in the runoff, you must vote in the same political party’s runoff as you did for the primary.

  • Absentee Voting Deadlines: 

o   Saturday, August 24: In-Person Absentee Voting Deadline – 12:00 p.m.; Circuit Clerk’s Office open from 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

o   Monday, August 26:  Absentee Ballot by Mail Deadline — 5:00 p.m.; Circuit Clerks’ Offices must be in actual receipt of absentee ballots returned by mail.  This is not a postmark deadline but an actual receipt deadline.

  • Election Day: 

Polling locations will be open from 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. Make sure you bring a photo ID when you got to the polls.

Around 635,000 people voted in Tuesday’s elections. While Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann expects a slight decline in those numbers on the 27th, he hopes to see a good tunrout when the runoffs arrive.

“I’m very hopeful that people will realize that they’re picking the final two here for both parties, and I’m hopeful that we’ll have a decent turnout, but clearly, it’ll be less than what we had [on Tuesday],” he said. 

To find your polling place, visit the Secretary of State’s Website.

The post Important dates and information ahead of runoff elections appeared first on News Mississippi.